Legacy PC App - Console Settings

  • Updated
Zello Paid support

This document explores the available settings within the Zello Work Web Management Console which apply to the Legacy PC application. These settings can be found under “Settings” in the console, and the Admin can view specifically Legacy PC app settings by selecting “Desktop” on that screen:
pc desktop settings.png

Language

This pull-down menu will change the default setting for the PC application. Changes will only take effect for users after logging in. Note that this will change the option for all users (or all users in the specific user profile group that is selected in the web console at the time) and will take immediate effect for users that are currently logged in. If this setting has been changed, then individual users will be unable to manually select a language from within the local application settings on their PC. If you have made a change and would like to allow users to make changes themselves instead, click the small circular arrow icon.

circle icon pc.png

Updates

This menu will change the settings for selected users (or all users if editing the global user group) to set the behavior for checking for and installing version updates to the Legacy Zello Work app. Changing this setting will automatically change the setting for all users upon login and/or for all users that are currently logged in. If this setting has been changed, then individual users will be unable to manually select a language from within the local application settings on their PC. If you have made a change and would like to allow users to make changes themselves instead, click the small circular arrow icon.

Don’t save password

Turning on this option will change the default behavior of the Zello Work app to no longer automatically save and populate the password for previously successful logins. By default, after a successful login, the app will have the password automatically populated the next time the app is opened. Turn this option on if this behavior goes against local IT policy.

Auto-away

This option is on by default. If a user is inactive for a certain period of time, their status will change to “Away.” Turning this option off will allow users to remain in available status regardless of how long they have been inactive.

Auto-away timeout (min)

This setting will dictate how long a user will need to be inactive for before they are automatically changed to “Away” status. Only effective when the Auto-away setting is on. Setting time is measured in minutes and is set to 5 minutes by default.

Highlight unanswered calls

Pull-down menu that changes the display behavior for when a call comes in. Options are “Disabled,” “Strict,” and “Balanced.” Calls that have not been acknowledged will be highlighted in the display if Strict or Balanced are selected.Strict highlights all recent conversations that have not been responded to. Balanced will selectively highlight recent conversations, but will not highlight conversations unless the user has been idle.

PTT key code override

This functionality is no longer available. Pending product updates.

Recording amplifier (db) (beta)

Increases or decreases the volume of audio being recorded through the microphone/input device. Accepts values from -20 to 20. Learn more.

Playback amplifier (dB)

Increases or decreases the volume of audio being played through the Zello Work PC app. Accepts values from -20 to 20.

Conversation timeout (seconds)

If the time since the last communication exceeds the conversation timeout setting and a new message is received, then Zello will not place the new message in the previous conversation, and alerts and highlights will behave as a new conversation. Learn more about conversation timeout. 

Keep-alive interval

Requires product information. This option may not be functional.

Use TCP only

Speeds login and improves connection reliability, but may increase lag time and power usage. This can be helpful for diagnosing connectivity issues.

Voice quality settings require product input.

voice quality settings.png

Write diagnostic log

Turning on this setting will tell the Zello Work app to begin writing more extensive logs to the hard drive. This should be used only for extensive diagnostic or troubleshooting reasons.

Call pre-setup

On by default, this setting will allow the Zello Work app to identify frequently used connections with channels/users to be set up for faster connections. May increase data usage.

Enable history

On by default. This setting will change the behavior of the app for saving transmissions to the local hard drive when using the Zello Work PC app. This does not affect Message Vault settings for the network.

Protect history

If history is enabled, this setting can be turned on to protect the files that are saved as part of that history, preventing the user from being able to delete those files.

Maximum voice history size

If history is enabled, this setting adjusts the maximum size of the history files that are saved to the local drive. When the maximum size has been reached, the app will automatically delete the oldest messages to make room for newer messages. This pull-down menu can change the size to preset values from as small as 2MB to up to 2 GB.

Repeat call alert signal

This setting will change how often an alert will play when receiving a call. Set to Unlimited by default, this can be changed to between repeating one time or up to 20 times.